Indy 2021

Indy 2021: The race, which was moved to August last year and held with no fans, is back to a May start date and will be welcoming 135,000 fans back into the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

In the race’s 105th running, Scott Dixon will be the first car fans see lined up at the start after he won the pole position during the Fast Nine Shootout last Sunday. He has not won the Indy 500 since 2008, while last year’s winner, Takuma Sato, will be looking for his third win in the Indy 500 in a pursuit to be the first back-to-back champion since Helio Castroneves in 2001 and 2002.

Sato will race in the No. 15 position, while Castroneves will be in the No. 8 spot.

Below is all the information you need to follow the schedule of the 2021 Indy 500 with the broadcast coverage and start time for the race.

Coverage of the Indy 500 will begin at 9 a.m. on NBC Sports Network before it shifts over to the network coverage on NBC at 11 a.m. all the way through 4 p.m., when the postrace coverage will start back up again on NBC Sports.

During the race, Leigh Diffey will again be calling the play-by-play while Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy will be providing analysis. Mike Tirico will be hosting the prerace and postrace coverage alongside Danica Patrick. Up in the Peacock Pit Box, Jimmie Johnson, the seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion, will join Steve Letarte to provide analysis.

Indianapolis 500 schedule

The build-up to the Indy 500 has been coming over the past several days with cars attempting to qualify for the race and others trying to seal their spot at the pole position for the start of the race.

But now, with the race finally here, the schedule begins early Sunday morning, with garages opening at 5 a.m. and the gates opening at 6 a.m. Cars won’t be on the starting grid until 10:30 a.m. and the race won’t actually start until 12:45 p.m. Then, drivers will race for the next three hours to determine the 2021 winner.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *